Ohio Glass Museum, Special Exhibitions, Lancaster, OH

The exhibition includes glass made by many glass companies in America that made both handmade and manufactured glass since the first glass factory was established in Virginia called the Jamestown Glasshouse in 1608. The museum collections have been donated since the museum opened May 20, 2016. They have also included pieces of glass on-loan to supplement our own collections when available or needed to fill up our display areas.

“A Very Private Collection…” featuring glass from 1875-1920 represents a time when families used a mix of crystal and colorful tableware daily or when entertaining guests. Many of the pieces are considered glass from the Victorian Period. The gold edges on some items adds a touch of elegance not seen in later periods. A mixed arrangement of seldom seen and very rare pieces of glass on loan from the collector will remain on display through August 26, 2018 in the OGM Gallery to dazzle the viewer.

Multiple pieces of glass donated to OGM are displayed in other cabinets in appreciation of the donors’ efforts to preserve our glass heritage. The museum collections will rotate in and out during other special displays on loan throughout the coming years.

Dickens Victorian Village, Historic Downtown Cambridge, OH

Each year historic downtown Cambridge, Ohio, is charmingly transformed into a Dickens Victorian Village each holiday season.

From November through mid-January each year, visitors are invited to stroll amidst over 92 scenes of 166 lifelike figures representing classic scenes from Victorian society.

This innovative public art exhibition is enjoyed by families, couples, and groups alike – an experience that engages the senses as you explore the charming streetscape, striking historic architecture, and eclectic shops and eateries of Cambridge.

The Dickens scenes are stationed along Wheeling Avenue at each antique lamppost and bench, between 6th and 11th Streets, in windows on street level, and in second story windows. Wheeling Avenue is also the historic National Road/Route 40, and features an outstanding streetscape of original buildings from the 1800s. The Dickens Victorian Village scenes are comprised of life sized and hand-made mannequins wearing real vintage clothing. The faces for each character are individually sculpted and painted by local artists.

The displays include engaging depictions of classic Dickens-era scenes and figures such as Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim, the town crier, groups of carolers, a bucket brigade, lamplighters, school children, street peddlers, and Father Christmas, all posed in active scenes that appear frozen in time.

Also experience the courthouse, which comes alive nightly with thousands of pulsating lights synchronized to holiday music. This magnificent 1881 building jumps into the 21st Century as it is bathed in colored lights, 36 animated light displays, and 15,000 lights outlining the building. The display is computer controlled with 364 electrical circuits meticulously synchronized to a holiday soundtrack, with a total of 30,000 lights. Four different light shows, each show is 8 to 12 minutes in length, are performed throughout each evening beginning at 5:30 p.m., with the last show starting at 9 p.m.

Horse-Drawn Sleigh Rides at President Haye’s Estate, Speigel Grove, Fremont, OH

Ride through the grounds of Spiegel Grove in a horse-drawn sleigh, as President Hayes did when he lived here. Rides are by South Creek Clydesdales.

Spiegel Grove is the name given to the estate of 19th U.S. President Rutherford B. Hayes. It was so named for the large puddles of rainwater that collect beneath the towering trees following a storm. “Spiegel” is the German word for mirror – an accurate description for these nature-made reflecting pools. The Hayes Presidential Library & Museums is located within 25-acres of the President’s original estate.

President Rutherford B. Hayes inherited the property known as Spiegel Grove from his maternal uncle, Sardis Birchard. Birchard purchased the property on November 5, 1846. He had long admired the large wooded acreage. Its large trees and thick underbrush are said to have reminded him of the German fairy tales of his youth. He kept the property in its natural state until 1859 when he began construction of a house on the property. Birchard never married. His intent was that his nephew and family reside there with him in his retirement.

The grounds of President Hayes’ 25-estate, Spiegel Grove, are open year-round. They are beautiful in any season but especially so when there is snow. Sleigh Rides available through December 31st.

Gallery Event Featuring Millennial Art

#Livetusc and Bread Head Bistro invite you to attend the Millennial Art Exhibit on Friday, November 3 from 7p until 9p.

#Livetusc, a millennial-focused development project, encourages young people to live, work, and play in Tuscarawas county. Their mission statement is: “Engage and educate future generations about the quality of life and career paths in Tuscarawas County.”

Bread Head Bistro is a locally owned and operated restaurant offering “Bread, Burgers, Bowls and Brews.” It was established in Dover, OH in 2007.

From paintings and photographs to drawings and fiber art, the event will showcase the variety and talent of a handful of local young artists. Featured artists Teai Warner, Aubrey Gealsha, Jenae Legg, Megan Stanley, and Laura Gray will be in attendance, and they will have pieces for sale. Pieces by Zac Yoder will also be on display.

Bread Head Bistro will also have live music on November 3rd from 7pm until 10pm. Local musician Zach Shepherd will play an acoustic set.

Renaissance Theatre Presents 1925 Phantom of the Opera with Live Organist

The Renaissance Theatre, Mansfield Ohio, presents the 1925 silent movie classic, Phantom of the Opera, starring Lon Chaney and accompanied by the Renaissance Theatre’s legendary Mighty Wurlitzer organ. If you’ve never seen it on the big screen, this is a rare opportunity to experience this fully restored motion picture masterpiece as it was intended to be seen. Performed by renown theatre organist Jay Spencer.

The Phantom of the Opera is a 1925 American silent horror film adaptation of Gaston Leroux’s 1910 novel Le Fantôme de l’Opéra, directed by Rupert Julian and starring Lon Chaney, Sr. in the title role of the deformed Phantom who haunts the Paris Opera House, causing murder and mayhem in an attempt to make the woman he “loves” a star. The film remains most famous for Chaney’s ghastly, self-devised make-up, which was kept a studio secret until the film’s premiere. The film was released on November 25, 1925.

The picture also features Mary Philbin, Norman Kerry, Arthur Edmund Carewe, Gibson Gowland, John St. Polis, and Snitz Edwards. The last surviving cast member was Carla Laemmle (1909–2014), niece of producer Carl Laemmle, who played a small role as “prima ballerina” in the film when she was about 15.

Saturday, October 28, 8PM.