NYE Broadcasts 2021

The first celebration of New Years Eve in Times Square was in 1904. The first “ball drop” at Times Square was in 1907. This will be the first New Years Eve in which there will not be a large crowd celebrating in Times Square. However, the entertainment industry wouldn’t dare, for their own sake, to leave celebrators high and dry. The show will go on. The ball will drop at midnight.

The official Times Square New Year’s Eve organizers, Times Square Alliance and Countdown Entertainment have created a six-hour commercial free webcast. The event is closed to the public and will follow New York state health protocols. It will feature Jonathan Bennett returning as the host. Performances will include Andra Day, Gloria Gaynor, The Waffle Crew and the USO Show Troupe.

Other elements of the broadcast will include Jennifer Lopez, Billy Porter, Cyndi Lauper, Jimmie Allen and Machine Gun Kelly for ABC’s Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest (in its 49th year) and Anitta and Pitbull for Univision’s ¡Feliz 2021.